National Post makes money; bleeds dailies dry

Well, PostMedia announced recently that the NP, after 13 years, was making money. It also announced that the “profit” are largely due to $17.3 million in costcutting across the chain, mostly for salaries in the dailies. I’m sure they feel real good about that across the chain; they are profitable, so they take staff cuts to prop up a “national” newspaper that wouldn’t float otherwise.

In other news, PostMedia announced again that it would start charging for users for on-line access, again following the crowd.

And in local news, I’ve let my subscription to the Leader Post lapse. I finally got fed up with paying $400 a year to read every morning what I read the day before on the web. I used to spend ten minutes a day on the L-P and eight minutes of that was on Wonderword.

Tomorrow, I’ll do something positive, and examine a newspaper model in Canada that works and should be emulated if the daily business wants to survive in the digital age.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.